PTA


About the Kaiser Elementary PTA

pta-logo-greyThe Kaiser PTA is a local unit of the Oakland Council, Peralta District of The California Congress of parents, Teachers, and Students, Inc. At Kaiser our goal is 100% participation among of our families. Membership is obtained through paying District PTA dues.

PTA membership will provide full voting privileges, access to National and State PTA resources and discounts, a Kaiser School Directory, and most importantly, strengthen the PTA voice so that policy makers in all areas will hear a strong, unified message on behalf of our children.

PTA Association meetings are held at 6:30 p.m. on October 25th, January 24th, and April 11th unless otherwise changed by the Executive Board. If there is an item an association member would like to have on the agenda, they may contact the PTA President (president@kaiserpta.org). Association minutes are available only to PTA members. Board meetings are closed. The Board Reports are available only to PTA members.

PTA News and Events

Kaiser Dad’s Club

We are forming a Dad’s club to help support our kids. We will figure out a time to meet and how we want to support the school through Pancake Breakfast, etc. Dad’s of any gender are welcome

If you are interested please send your contact information to Nick Wood at nick@wewood.org

Parent Guides

100 Ways to Help you Child Succeed

Why Your School Needs a PTA

Why did you Join PTA?

By joining the PTA your contribution of time and resources provide you: 

  • Connection to other parents and teachers.
  • Understanding of the challenges schools face and knowing your part of the solution.
  • Opportunity to know your kids’ classmates.
  • And your child a sense of community.
  • Eyewitness to those “awesome moments” of elementary school.
  • The joy of adding to the amazing Kaiser experience for all our kids.
  • Oh yeah lots of fun!

PTA Board 2018-2019

President, Celeste Stanley – president@kaiserpta.org

Executive VP, Sarah Isaacs – vicepresident@kaiserpta.org

Treasurer, Stuart Cook – treasurer@kaiserpta.org

Secretary, Cinnamon Tolan – secretary@kaiserpta.org

Financial Secretary, Ariana Lightner – financialsecretary@kaiserpta.org

VP Diversity/Community Involvement, Simone Thelemaque –diversity@kaiserpta.org

VP Membership & Volunteers, Sayaka Araki –  membership@kaiserpta.org

VP Programs, Tane Ross – programs@kaiserpta.org

VP Fundraising, TBD – KaiserFundraising@gmail.com

Teacher Representatives, Amy Bailey and Margaret Yang

Principal, Dennis Guikema – dennis.guikema@ousd.org

Parliamentarian, Jim Armstrong – parliamentarian@kaiserpta.org

Historian, Kelly Martin – historian@kaiserpta.org

Spirit Wear, Catherine Macken – spiritwear@kaiserpta.org

Webmaster, Andrés Elenes – webmaster@kaiserpta.org

Pink Panther, Celia Carter – pinkpanther@kaiserpta.org

Auction Committee Chair, TBD – auction@kaiserpta.org

Walk-a-thon Committee Chair, TBD walk-a-thon@kaiserpta.org

What We Do

The PTA funds a number of different programs:

  • Art Enrichment
  • Music Programs
  • Computer Program
  • Teacher Assistance and Supplies
  • Classroom Field Trips
  • Emergency Supplies
  • School Library
  • Assemblies

The work of the PTA is carried out through its Executive Board and through numerous program committees including the following:

  • Walk-A-Thon
  • Auction
  • Spring Carnival
  • Pledges (families and company donations)
  • Library Committee
  • Gardening and Beautification
  • Teacher/Staff Appreciation Week
  • Math & Science Night
  • eScrip Membership
  • Target REDcard
  • Amazon (shop through our school’s homepage)
  • Box Tops for Education labels
  • Old Ink Cartridges

Please notify Principal Dennis Guikema or any member of the PTA Board if you would be willing to help out on one of these committees.

The PTA raises funds through a variety of sources, including donations, eScript and memberships. Our largest fundraisers are Pledges, the Auction and Kaiser Walk-A-Thon.  Watch for details about these important events.